Practice Areas > Hit & Run

Hit & Run

Hit and Run Charges Defense Attorney in Houston, Texas

A hit and run accident is one in which the driver of the car causing the accident leaves the scene of the accident and leaves no contact information. In the state of Texas, the law requires anyone who has been in an accident in which any sort of property or bodily damage has occurred to stay at the scene of the accident and assist any injured parties as needed. If you have left the scene of an accident and are charged with a hit and run, you will need the best defense attorney you can get. You’ll find that at the Law Office of Diana E. Sims of Houston, Texas. Our professional legal staff will use their experience to create the best possible legal defense for you.

Possible Defenses for Hit and Run Cases

There are several ways in which a defense attorney may argue your case for leaving the scene of a hit and run accident. If you were forced to leave the scene due to unsafe conditions of some kind such as an impending flood, storm, or wildfire; this may be a viable defense. If you did not believe that the other person involved in the accident was injured, this argument may also be used to defend you.  In any case, you need to have an expert legal advocate on your side. The Law Office of Diana E. Sims of Houston, Texas is dedicated to giving your side a voice and to defending your legal rights in your hit and run accident case.

Penalties for Hit and Run Offenses

The penalties that are given for a hit and run offense range in severity – from a Class B misdemeanor to a third-degree felony. If the accident involved serious injury to the other party, you are likely to be charged with a third-degree felony, which carries with it a penalty of two to ten years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. If the other party was injured, but the injury was not serious, the charge is still third-degree felony, but the penalty is less severe, and may be up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. If there is no injury to the other party, but there is property damage of more than $200, the charge will likely be a Class B misdemeanor with 180 days in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000. The charges and penalties for a hit and run accident are serious, and if you’ve been charged with this crime, you need to seek legal representation right away.

Call to Schedule a Free Consultation with a Hit and Run Charges Defense Attorney in Houston, Texas Today

If you’ve been charged with a hit and run offense, call to schedule a free consultation with a hit and run charges defense attorney in Houston, Texas today. The legal experts at the Law Office of Diana E. Sims are ready to defend your case and get you the minimum possible sentencing. Call us at (713) 236-9800 today and let us help you keep your freedom and record intact.

Free Consultation

Call us 24/7 at 713-236-9800 or fill out the form.

If you have been accused of a crime or charged with an offense in Houston, give us a call, we can help you!